Austin Wine Festival, Has A Ways To Go Yet

Wine Fest

Getting to taste some, let me stress some, of the wines from different vineyards and wineries of the Texas Hill Country really revealed a true terroir or special characteristics of this region. A mineral and either grassy or vegetal note plays in most of these wines. When treated right this was quite nice. I encountered many, sweet and semisweet wines too. Many not really to my liking. Of the more than 20 wineries and vineyards represented I enjoyed Driftwood Vineyards the best this day. I thought the 2005 Lone Star Cab was nicely balanced with the right touch of oak.

As I mentioned, I was not able to taste all or at least all that I wanted to this weekend. Unlike last year, the price of admision ($25) included only ten 1 oz tastes. I was quite disappointed with this change. I also believe this hurt the vineyards as well. It forced me to be choosy. If I tasted a variety I did not like so much I was more likey to move on and try someone elses offerings instead of trying another style.

I was also disappointed in the food offerings, Whole Foods offered fruit and cheese plates only. A feeble offering that should have been much more. There were some other offering such as Freebirds New World Burrito and Boomerang’s Meat Pies. I did have a taste of the Meat Pie, pretty good but not exactly the fair I was hoping to enjoy at the wine festival.

Overall I just did not find the whole experience very inviting. I found myslef saying “well it is only the second year maybe it will get better.” Unfortunately, that is what I said last year and I had a better time then.

2 Responses to “Austin Wine Festival, Has A Ways To Go Yet”

  1. Margie Says:

    How many tastings do you usually get at an event like that? I’ve never been to one. But, I’m curious about it.

  2. beaubeen Says:

    Last year, I paid admission and tasted all that I wanted. I didn’t notice a single person get out of hand or even drunk really. Just not that kind of crowd. The purpose of this festival is to promote the wines of the Texas Hill Country. Considering that there were 21 vineyards or wineries represented, each offering 4 styles on average, that’s about 74 wines missed out on. Seemed like a money grab.


Leave a Reply

